The New Education policy


On Wednesday July 29th a new Education Policy was launched . Union Ministers for Information and Broadcasting (I&B)Prakash Javadekar and Human Resource Development (HRD) and Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, made the announcement on the NEP- 2020.  Prime Minister on May 1 , Narendra Modi had reviewed the NEP- 2020, for which draft was prepared by a panel of experts led by former Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chief K Kasturirangan. The NEP 2020 aims at making “India a global knowledge superpower”.

The new academic session is slotted to begin from September-October . There has been various  delays  due to the unprecedented Covid-19 outbreak  and the government aims to introduce the policy before the new session proceeds . It has been estimated that by 2025, at least 50% of learners through the school and higher education system shall have exposure to vocational education. Slowly from purely merit this education system is also focussing on developing skills . Sampling of such important vocational crafts, such as carpentry, electric work, metal work, gardening, pottery making, etc., Has been decided tentatively by States and local communities during students of  Grades 6-8.

One amongst the many changes is the structural reform in the school system from the existing 10+2 model. The curricular and pedagogical structure for school education will now be guided by a 5 + 3 + 3 + 4 design . The design consists of 4 stages:

  • The Foundational Stage
Kid learning

Students between the ages of 3-8 years will be part of the foundational stage. The stage will be split into two: 3 years of preschool and two years in Grades 1-2. This stage consists of play/activity-based learning. It will also focus on good behaviour, personal and public hygiene/cleanliness, teamwork and cooperation learning exercises .

  • The Preparatory Stage
Kids studying at school

Students in the formative age group of 8-11 years studying in grades 3 to 5 will form the preparatory group. Preparatory Stage will transition gradually from play-based learning to more formal but interactive classroom learning, with the introduction of some new subjects. Emphasis will be on subjects like reading, writing, speaking, physical education, art, languages, science, and mathematics .

  • The Middle Stage
Kids learning technology

Widening the scope of learning the students of grades 6 to 8 between ages 11-14 will be introduced to more abstract concepts in subjects like the sciences, mathematics, arts, social sciences, and humanities .

  • The Secondary Stage

The last stage is for understudies between 14-18 years. This stage consists of two sub-stages: covering grades 9 and 10 in the first phase and grades 11 and 12 in second. This stage will comprise of four years of multidisciplinary study, with greater depth, greater critical thinking, greater attention to life aspirations, and greater flexibility and student choice. The High School Stage may also allow exposure to more subjects and enable greater flexibility.

Team ITVI is pleased to inform everyone regarding the new education policy that  aims at multi-faceted development of a child and would provide the student with a wider choice of profession and make education less tedious. The policy has been designed to optimize learning for students based on the cognitive development of children.

By-Fiona Catherine Jerry

             Team ITVI

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.